You MUST obtain your Florida Marriage
License prior to the Wedding. Out of state residents have no waiting period
and residents require a 3 day waiting period.
Florida Marriage License Requirements
Both parties must be present when applying
for a marriage license and each must present one of the following forms
Valid government issued photo driver
license issued in the United States; or
Valid federal or state photo identification
Valid government issued Passport or
Consular photo ID
(birth certificates or green cards
are not accepted)
If either person was previously married,
the manner in which the last marriage ended and the exact date the marriage
ended (month, day and year) are required. Copies of the death certificate,
final decree of divorce, annulment or blood test are not required. You
do not have to be a resident of Florida to apply.
If either person is a Florida resident,
a mandatory 3 day waiting period applies. The license’s “Effective Date”
will be 3 calendar days after the “Issue Date”. The bridal party will not
be able to marry until on, or after the “Effective Date”. The license will
expire 60 days after the issue date.
Requirements for Minors 16 or
17 years old (one or both applicants) (f.s. 741.0405(1))
All of the following are required:
One of the forms of identification
Certified copy of Minor's birth certificate
showing parent's names; and
A parental consent form may be obtained
at the time of application. Both parents/legal guardians must be present
with their own identification on hand. If one parent is deceased, a certified
copy of the death certificate must be presented, and the surviving parent
must be present with his/her own identification. If a legal guardian has
been appointed, a court certified copy must be presented.
Exceptions will be if the parents are
divorced and one parent has sole legal custody of the minor child. In this
case, a court certified copy of the custody document must be presented
and only the consent of the custodial parent will be required. If both
parents are deceased, and a guardian has not been appointed by the court,
the minor must present certified copies of both death certificates.
If full parental consent is unobtainable,
judicial review is mandatory.
Any application may be submitted for
Requirements for Minors under
the age of 16 (one or both applicants)
All of the requirements for minors
16 or 17 shown above.
Under oath, swear that they are the
parents or expectant parents of a child;
Provide proof in the form of the newborn
child’s birth certificate or written statement from a licensed physician
Will require judicial review.
Previously Married Minors:
Previously married minors may apply
without parental consent. The minor must provide a certified copy of the
previous marriage’s certificate and a certified copy of the death certificate
or divorce decree.
Where consent is required, is
consent of both parents required?
Yes, unless the parents are divorced
and the sole legal custody and control is placed in one parent, then only
the parent having such sole custody and control shall be required to give
the written consent. All written consents must be acknowledged under oath
(notarized or witnessed by a deputy clerk).
If my bride/groom and I are both
Florida residents, do we have to take a 4 hour premarital preparation course?
Florida law (f.s. 741.01) requires
all Florida residents to either take a four (4) hour premarital preparation
course given by an authorized course provider or wait three (3) days from
the date of issuance for the license to become effective. Additionally,
Florida law requires the course provider to be registered in our county
in order for the three (3) day waiting period to be waived and for the
bridal couple to be eligible for the discounted license fee. A Certificate
of Course Completion must be presented at time of application.
Who can provide the four (4)
hour premarital preparation course?
f.s. 741.0305 prescribes the following
to be qualifying course providers:
1. A psychologist licensed under
2. A clinical social worker licensed
under chapter 491.
3. A marriage and family therapist
licensed under chapter 491.
4. A mental health counselor
licensed under chapter 491.
5. An official representative
of a religious institution which is recognized under s.
if the representative has relevant training.
6. Any other provider designated
by a judicial circuit, including, but not limited to,
who are certified to offer such courses.
The qualifying course provider must
be registered in our county in order to be eligible for waiver of the three
(3) day waiting period and discounted license fee.
If my bride/groom and I are both non-Florida
residents, is there a waiting period for the issuance of the license?
No. If both the bride and groom are
non-Florida residents, there is no waiting period for the license to become
Are blood tests and physical
No. The law requiring these tests was
repealed October 1, 1986.
Must I apply for a marriage license
in the county where I live?
No, a marriage license may be applied
for and solemnized in any Florida county.
How long is a marriage license
valid once it is issued?
The marriage must be solemnized within
sixty (60) days of issuance of the marriage license. The ceremony may be
performed anywhere within the State of Florida.
Who may perform marriage ceremonies?
A regularly ordained minister or other
Elders in communion with some church;
All judicial officers (judges) of the
State of Florida;
Clerks of Circuit Court and their deputies
of the State of Florida; and
Notaries Public of the State of Florida.
In addition, the law provides that
marriages may be performed among "Quakers" or "Friends," in the manner
and form used or practiced in their societies.
Note: Boat Captains are not authorized
to perform marriage ceremonies in the State of Florida unless they are
otherwise qualified as provided above. Marriage ceremonies must take place
within Florida’s boundaries (within 3 geographical miles of the coastline).
Who is a "regularly ordained
He/she is a minister who has been recognized
in the manner required by the regulations of the respective denomination
to perform marriage ceremonies.
We’re from out-of-state, and
we want to bring our regularly ordained minister with us to perform the
ceremony in Florida. May we do this?
May a marriage be solemnized
without a license?
No, Section 741.08 F.S. states that
the party solemnizing the marriage shall require a license issued according
to f.s. 741.01. before solemnizing the ceremony.
May I use my Florida Marriage
License to have my marriage solemnized in another state?
No. Florida Marriage Licenses are only
valid within the state boundaries.
Do I have to be a Florida resident
or a U.S. citizen to obtain a Marriage License?
No. The parties must present valid
government issued photo ID, such as driver license from their state or
a passport from their country. Valid consular ID cards are also accepted.
Do I have to provide my social
If you are a U.S. citizen, or have
been issued a social security number, you must provide it at time of application
(f.s. 741.04). Use of this number through this requirement shall be limited
to the purpose of administration of the Department of Revenue Title IV-D
program. It is sent to the Florida Department of Health, Office of Vital
Statistics as part of your marriage record.
Local County Clerk Offices
Effective April 23, 2014
County Courthouse Annex Extension
1940 Lewis Turner Blvd ( Hwy 189)
Third Floor/ Room 3B
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547
Annex 31 Coastal Centre
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida 32459
Telephone: (850) 267-3066
License by mail visit Florida Marriage License Express
205-544-6929 (Call or